L.A. Girl Matte Flat Finish Pigment Gloss

IMG_5410 (2)Hello, makeup lovers!

 

Today I share a review with swatches of the L.A. Girl pigment glosses. You can say, Oh Eva where have you been? These liquid lipsticks are a staple already, loved by many… I know this! and I wanted to try them since the release, but I never did.

One of the reasons that it took me so long to buy them is because I am not a fan of liquid lipsticks, from my point of view they easily accentuate every line on the lips and most of all they feel so dry even when properly applied, it feels uncomfy. I know the positive side they are completely opaque, highly pigmented, most of all they are smudge-proof and long lasting, but I prefer a creamier texture that gives my lips some moisture even if I have to reapply it. I do love the final result and how it looks on photos.

I went to the beauty store and found them on display so I decided to purchase a few shades and see if is worth the hype.

Here is the description from their website:

 Introducing our hottest new lip product – Matte Pigment Gloss. These 16 bold shades provide rich, intense color in a flat finish for all day wear. The long-wearing formula goes on as a high pigmented liquid and dries to a flat matte finish. Leaving lips colored in gorgeous velvety perfection that last and lasts.

The gloss comes in a bold and clear plastic tube with a black matte cap around the tube a print with the name, shade, and other details. It brings a flat doe-foot applicator with a rounded end and it has 0.17 Oz of the product. There is a full range of colors from light nudes to darker tones like red and purple, all very beautiful.
The formula is good for a liquid lipstick very lightweight and non-sticky, not like others that can fall on the opposite side. Same for the dryness after a time you can feel the lips a bit tight, but is not overwhelming, it applies smoothly, fully opaque with great pigmentation and it dries pretty fast, is also smudge-proof and last around 8 hours.

All of this depends on the conditions, I don’t recommend applying multiple bold layers it can make a mess and take a long time to dry. Eating greasy food can break it off or make it sticky also if your lips are dry don’t use a liquid lipstick it will look and feel awful.

How do I apply it?

I start with a lip scrub to prepare the lips and make them smooth then I follow with a non-greasy lip balm, leaving it to penetrate the skin while I do the rest of my makeup after that I grab a tissue and press it against the lips to take out any residue, I proceed with the lip liner (you don’t have to use it, I just like the sharper edges) and then apply the liquid lipstick. If I need to make a correction I use my foundation.

How do I take it off?
These are pretty easy to remove if you follow the instructions use an oil-based makeup remover, sometimes I just use coconut or olive oil and voila! I am done.
The glosses retail for $5 on their website but you can find them for $3.99 on ikatehouse.com they offer coupons and sell bundles. ( No affiliation )

lagirllip

I have to mention that some colors can apply patchy, in my case the lightest shade Secret, another thing is that darker colors can leave a stain on the lips.

bddc

Top line- Dreamy, Fleur, and Timeless

Bottom line- Frisky, Secret, and Instinct

Overall I think that L.A. Girl Matte Flat Finish Pigment Gloss is a good product whether you love liquid lipsticks or feel curiosity. The pigmentation, long wear time, and price make it a great deal! I can’t say it’s the best formula but is definitely worth the try, unless you fancy a creamy, moisturizing lipstick.

Thank you for reading!

IMG_5415

Leave a comment